Flip Tip – Granite or Formica?

My head is about to EXPLODE!!!

This may not be the main question on everybody’s mind when it comes to kitchens, but they are one of mine when it comes to selling a home or remodeling it to maximize the value. I’ve been on both sides of the spectrum and I can tell you, it ain’t pretty!

kitchen-countertops formica

Granite_Kitchen_Countertop

VS.

When it comes to resale, the kitchen is one of the biggest returns on investment so get ready for some demo!

Usually the biggest investment will be the kitchen because of everything that goes along with it, countertops, flooring, appliances, cabinets, and dare I say it…a backsplash. I always like to spend 40-50% of my budget on the kitchen to make it as eye catching as possible to ensure that “I MAXIMIZE MY RETURN”!

For Flooring I always recommend at least 16 or 18 inch tile or one of the other popular styles right now is the rectangular tile, 18 x 12 for example, to give it that offset look. No matter how you lay the 16 or 18” tile it doesn’t matter, it just gives it the look that people nowadays want.

As long as there modern looking cabinets, I don’t think you can go wrong with some browns, cherries, or certain whites. Nice looking hardware can make a so-so cabinet pop a little. And one thing that seems to drive the girls crazy is slow closing hinges. One of my favorite things to show people looking at a house is that, I’ll open a cabinet door and slam it shut and watch their expressions change from utter horror, to sheer joy when the door stops and slows down to a close with an inch to go. It’s like when you dream that your falling, utter horror, and just before you hit the ground, you wake up, sheer joy!

Appliances to me have to be stainless steel……maybe black on rare occasions. Nothing says clean and modern like stainless steel, French door refrigerators are very eye catching, and if possible a double oven, that is a bonus for a kitchen. 95% of times I’ve shown a house with white appliances, even if there brand new, that is on the list to change. If there off white, you mine as well puke on the floor, it has the same appeal! Just my opinion.

And last but not least, granite or formica? Nope, Quartz, I threw you with that one huh! While both are natural stone, I like that you don’t have to seal quartz on a regular basis like granite. Think about it over the long run, if it’s a couple dollars more per square foot its less maintenance, which to me, is worth it. It also is less prone to getting stains, where as granite can get stained..red wine lovers! My favorite thing about it is its durability. All the flaws are engineered out while granite, as nice as it looks, still has its natural flaws and depending on where they are could crack.

And as far as a backsplash goes, do one if you want, I don’t care, I’m tired of writing! No, I’m just kidding! I will have a future topic all about tile and backsplash so look for that in the near future.

So whether your selling a house you’ve lived in for 50 years or rehabbing one you bought yesterday, keep these tips in your back pocket and expect a better return on your money than you thought.

Leave a Reply

